Skip directly to: Main page content

Population Biology Graduate Group

Photo: Alternate description of photo goes here

First-year Cohort Field Trip 2007: Angelo Coast Range Reserve (First Row L-R: A. Perkins, M. McGee, S. McCauley, G. Lee, C. Martin. Second Row R-L: S. Dalrymple, A. Lemmon, E. Lemmon, D. Grosenbacher, M. Afkhami, C. Boettiger.)

Population biology is an interdisciplinary field that uses concepts and techniques from ecology, evolution, systematics, genetics, and mathematics or statistics. We often work near the interface between ecology, the study of interactions between organisms and their environment, and evolutionary biology, which aims to understand how populations and species evolve. Our research is often directed towards basic science but also often addresses applied problems such as overcrowding, invasive species, and extinction.

Areas of specialization include population growth, structure and dynamics (basic and applied); population interactions (competition, predation, parasitism, and mutualism); community ecology; food webs; biogeography; behavioral and physiological ecology; life history strategies; systematics; evolution; population and quantitative genetics; and genomics. We encourage intellectual independence of students and the creativity that it encourages.

Brian Moore, Chair

 


CONTACT US:

General Contact Information
Population Biology Graduate Group
2320 Storer Hall
University of California Davis
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
(530) 752-1274

Program Chair
Brian Moore
5330 Storer Hall
University of California Davis
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
(530) 752-7104
brianmoore@ucadavis.edu

Graduate Group Coordinator
Sherri Mann
2320C Storer Hall
University of California Davis
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
(530) 752-1274
Smmann@ucadavis.edu

Population Biology Graduate Group Academic Advisors:
Richard Karban - rkarban@ucavis.edu
David Neale - dbneale@ucavis.edu
Sebastian Schreiber - sschreiber@ucdavis.edu
Michael Turelli - mturelli@ucavis.edu
Philip Ward - psward@ucdavis.edu