Skip directly to: Navigation for this section | Main page content

Population Biology Graduate Group

Photo: Alternate description of photo goes here

2008 Cohort Olympics.

Pop Bio Student Directory

 

The following represents an A - Z listing of Pop Bio students.









Name

Email

Research Interest

Faculty Mentor

Armstrong, Frances

frarmstrong@ucdavis.edu

Marine evolutionary ecology; particularly life history strategies and population connectivity of marine invertebrates.

Rick Grosberg

Brand, Philipp

pbrand@ucdavis.edu

Evolutionary history and the patterns of selection of olfactory receptor genes of euglossine bees.

Santiago Ramirez and Artyom Kopp

Buffalo, Vicent

vsbuffalo@ucdavis.edu

Bioinformatics

Graham Coop

Calfee, Erin

ecalfee@ucdavis.edu

Natural selection within hybrid zones, the evolution of reproductive isolation, and the role of admixture in natural systems; statistical methods.

Graham Coop

Caplins, Serena

sacaplins@ucdavis.edu

The genetic basis of different life histories through comparative transcriptomics/genomics and differential gene expression. Life histories are fascinating due to their influence over evolutionarily relevant processes,i.e., gene flow, effective population size, and fitness.

Rick Grosberg

Christie, Kyle

kchristie@ucdavis.edu

Evolution of reproductive isolation in Streptanthus (Jewelflower); speciation, local adaptation, and spatial patterns of morphological and genetic variation.

Sharon Strauss

Clement, Dale

dtclement@ucdavis.edu

Theoretical Ecology. I am interested in eco-evolutionary community dynamics, particularly the role of evolution in community collapse.

Sebastian Schreiber

Contino, Colin

cecontino@ucdavis.edu

Population genomics of Drosophila; genetics of adaptation, population genetics of sex-specific genes.

David Begun

Corn, Katherine

kacorn@ucdavis.edu

Interested in using phylogenetics and biomechanics to explore fish performance and diversity, with particular focus on the relationship between evolution of functional traits and lineage diversification. Also interested in the role of functional integration and modularity in driving and constraining evolution of morphology.

Peter Wainwright

Cornwell, Brendan

bhcornwell@ucdavis.edu

The evolution of host/symbiont interactions in Cnidarians inhabiting the spatially and temporally variable marine intertidal zone. Specifically, the role that each organism plays in allowing the holobiont to persist across a range of environmental conditions.

Rick Grosberg

Decker, Robin

rrdecker@ucdavis.edu

Theoretical ecology; community and landscape ecology, climate change, effects of land-use change and applications in conservation biology.

Alan Hastings

Elwood, Elise

ecelwood@ucdavis.edu

Plant ecology; distribution and causes of spread or decline of invasive and rare species.

Jenny Gremer

Freedman, Micah

mfreedman@ucdavis.edu

Chemical ecology of plant-herbivore interactions, ecology and evolution of floral scent, coevolution, island biogeography.

Sharon Strauss

Gao, Jiansi

jsigao@ucdavis.edu

Statistical and computational phylogenetic inference with applications to historical biogeography, lineage diversification and various other evolutionary processes.

Brian R. Moore

Ghose, Sonia

slghose@ucdavis.edu

TBA

Jonathan Eisen

Gross, Collin

colgross@ucdavis.edu

Marine community ecology, particularly community assembly and functional diversity of seagrass invertebrates and their predators.

Jay Stachowicz

Guizar Amador, Maria Fernanda

mfguizar@ucdavis.edu

Interested in the evolution of secondary metabolism in plants, and how these metabolites may play a role in ecological interactions and plant evolution.

Santiago Ramirez

Hudson, Asher

aihudson@ucdavis.edu

Behavior, host-pathogen interactions, and conservation.

Brian Johnson

James, Marisano

mjajames@ucdavis.edu

The visual ecology of Strepsiptera. Arthropod vision. Physiology of vision. Vision in general. Parasites. Evolution, including that of multicellularity.

Jonathan Eisen

Johnson, Evan

evcjohnson@ucdavis.edu

Coexistence theory, stochastic population dynamics, and equation-free methods for studying simulation models.

Alan Hastings

Kardish, Melissa

mrkardish@ucdavis.edu

Host-associated microbial communities and their effects on ecological patterns and ecosystem functioning. Specifically using the bacterial communities associated with Zostera marina, eelgrass.

Jay Stachowicz

Kollars, Nicole

nmkollars@ucdavis.edu

Marine community and evolutionary ecology-particularly, plant-herbivore interactions.

Jay Stachowicz

Lee, Kristin

krmlee@ucdavis.edu

Methods to identify the mode of convergence from population genomic data.

Graham Coop

Longman, Emily

eklongman@ucdavis.edu

Rocky intertidal community ecology; biogeography; local adaptation; species interactions; conservation.

Eric Sanford

Luecke, David

dluecke@ucdavis.edu

Evolutionary modifications of organ growth control and cell type specification.

Artyom Kopp and Graham Coop

Luo, Yige

ygeluo@ucdavis.edu

Sexual dimorphism, pheromone evolution and species diversification in Drosophila.

Artyom Kopp

Lyberger, Kelsey

klyberger@ucdavis.edu

Feedback loops between evolution and ecology; eco-evolutionary dynamics of Anolis lizards on Caribbean islands.

Thomas Schoener
and Sebastian Schreiber

May, Michael

mrmay@ucdavis.edu

Method development for phylogenetic inference with applications to historical processes.

Brian R. Moore

McMunn, Marshall

msmcmunn@ucdavis.edu

Community ecology, temporal variation in the traits and abundance of organisms on seasonal and diel scales.

Louie Yang

Morgan, Victoria

vmmorgan@ucdavis.edu

Phylogenetics, connectivity, and the genetic basis of adaptation in marine invertebrates.

Rick Grosberg

Nelson, Hannah

hrnelson@ucdavis.edu

Marine ecology; particularly life history strategies and maintenance of diversity.

Jay Stachowicz

Neylan, Isabelle

ipneylan@ucdavis.edu

Marine and behavioral ecology; potentially phenotypic and transgenerational plasticity.

Jay Stachowicz

O'Brien, Anna

amobrien@ucdavis.edu

Patterns of species interactions across environmental contexts. Specifically, the role of climate adaptation between plants and root-associated microbes.

Sharon Strauss
and Jeffery Ross-Ibarra

Roberts, Alexus

asroberts@ucdavis.edu

Functional morphology and biomechanics in fishes; specifically the evolution of systems and how this drives diversification among species.

Peter Wainwright

Robinson, Moria

mrobinson@ucdavis.edu

Direct and indirect effects of environmental heterogeneity on plant traits, herbivores, and natural enemies. Specifically, tritrophic ecological networks woods shrubs, caterpillars, and parasitoids across a mosaic of serpentine and non-serpentine soils.

Sharon Strauss

Saleh, Nicholas

nsaleh@ucdavis.edu

Behavioral ecology, genetics, and chemical ecology of social insects and insect mating systems.

Santiago Ramirez

Stitzer, Michelle

mcstitzer@ucdavis.edu

Population genetics and evolutionary dynamics of transposable elements and their host genomes (primarily maize and teosinte).

Jeffery Ross-Ibarra

Sugila, Elena

esuglia@ucdavis.edu

Plant responses to climate change, species interactions, community ecology, population genetics.

Jenny Gremer

Werner, Chhaya

cwerner@ucdavis.edu

Plant community ecology: patterns of regrowth after large disturbances, and how regeneration is shaped by competition and climate.

Truman Young and Susan Harrison

Wexler, Judy

jrwexler@ucdavis.edu

Evolution of sexual differentiation pathways in insects.

Artyom Kopp

White, Easton

eawhite@ucdavis.edu

Theoretical ecology and evolution applied to questions in population dynamics, life history trait evolution, and conservation. I often study beetles, pikas, and sharks.

Alan Hastings

Yair, Sivan

ssyair@ucdavis.edu

Interested in how hybridization and introgression play a role in adaptation and speciation. Plan to use statistical models to interpret patterns of genetic variation between individuals and populations to understand the evolutionary mechanisms taking place.

Graham Coop